I just watched the replay of UFC 107. I liked how quickly the Mir – Kongo match ended. I liked how the Penn – Sanchez match ended. But I liked the Florian – Guido match the best.

Every time I watch a UFC Pay-per-view event, I look for one thing. And it’s not how the match transgresses, it’s not the winning kicks or submissions. I look for the bumping of fists before the match, and the respect and congratulations afterwards. It’s a guilty pleasure; no one really knows this (not anymore).

What I look for is the sportsmanship and the compassion between the athletes. And it inspires me. How? Well if these guys just beat each other up, and they can still admit their faults and accept defeat, or check on their fallen opponent, why can’t I show the same compassion at work? Technically, the fighters are in the office too.

We usually bump heads with other people at work, but that doesn’t mean we should forget our compassion towards them. Work is work; on a personal level, we’re all people just doing our jobs. I’ve read a bit about this topic quite a bit, and I don’t see any downside to it. Remember your officemate who seemingly was under-performing? Would she be more responsive to you if you told her boss her faults, or if you asked her how her mom in the hospital is doing instead?

This concept of compassion at work (or love as used in a favorite book of mine) is even more powerful when it comes from the leaders. Having a boss that cares about your recovery just as much as your performance is definitely more inspiring than someone who just cares about the latter. It makes you feel that you are in the best place to work in. Can you imagine an HR manager that scowls at everyone that approaches her? I can’t.

Make your officemates feel valued and don’t be afraid to show compassion. You’re in it together, you might as well make it better for everyone.

