Payday is always a wondrous thing at work. It’s something that students definitely have to experience.

It’s easy to tell when payday strikes. Usually people are livelier, more upbeat. They have this weightless aura around them, because they know they have something to spend. People are usually budgeting if they aren’t already shopping.

In my payday observations, I’ve noticed several common habits — the “eat good food today until next week” habit, the “shop online today” habit and the “buy new techie gear” habit, to name a few. I’m the type who prefers to do these things before payday, say, the week before payday. I prefer to set aside savings, pay bills, then do those habits. This is my “be stingy and save now for the future” habit, because I was trained to save for a rainy day, rather than to splurge and reward oneself right away.

However, recently, I read a blog entry by a friend of mine, Randell Tiongson, on dreams having deadlines. This gave me a shift of perspective on saving and planning for the future. It was through this entry that I realized that we do not have to live miserly to save. I realized, “So this was what my financial planner friends were telling me about!”

I have always equated saving with being penurious. But what are we saving up for? When else do we reward ourselves? If I wait too long to be able to travel, I’ll be too old to do physical activities. If I wait too long to buy a game, I’ll be too busy or uninterested to buy it in the future.

Most people I know apply the adage, “You reap what you sow.” With Randell’s perspective, I totally understand that now. I worked for the money, and I deserve to benefit from it. However, I still believe in two other equally important adages: “Save for a rainy day” and “Slow and steady wins the race.” Maybe we can combine them, then.

Reaping what you sow after ensuring slow, steady saving wins the race. After all, I worked for the money, and I deserve to benefit from it, both now and in the future.

